PWU 96th Foundation Month

Posted: February 17, 2015

The Philippine Women’s University on its 96th foundation anniversary will hold its Recognition Day on February 20 (Friday), 2015, 1:00 p.m. at the Conrado Benitez Hall, Taft Avenue, Manila.

The PWU President Dr. Francisco Benitez said the event is in recognition of the men and women who have “contributed to the laurels that will adorn the hall of our University, inspiring us to do better in our shared goal to ensure the sustainable future of PWU towards its centennial and beyond.”

Leading the service awardees are Principal Remedios Cruz for 55 years of service, Aida Berroya and Thelma Saludares (40 years), Fe Fedelis (35 years), Marivic Tirona and Imelda Bulos (30 years).

Recipients of Meritorious Service Award are Professors Lolita Nieto, Roseshell Suico, Armand Nening and Francis Alvin Rosalda.

This year’s Special Achievement Awardees in Sports are Joby Joel Fabian II, Kathlyn Fabian, Yoshihiro Santelices, Victorino Lazaro II and Jose Dante dela Merced for placing 2nd place in the Licensure Examination for Teachers.

Students cited under the Meritorious Achievement Award are Roven Jayson Amistad, (Grand Prize, Magnolia Cook off Challenge), Rodney Santos (Grand Champion, Isettan Chef’s Intercollegiate Cooking Contest), Kayzel Pearl Jamaldin and Chinie Therese Geron (First Prize, Jolly Go Green, Go Veggie Cook off Challenge) and Team Bonbon of BS in Hotel Management Students (Grand Prize and Best Booth, NOEL’s Young Entrepreneurs 2014).

In Sports, the team that garnered the championship and will be cited are the JASMS-Manila High School Badminton (Palarong Pambansa), Patriots Women’s Table Tennis (5th Inter Scholastic Athletic Association), Patriots Badminton (5th ISAA Tournament), Patriots Women’s Basketball (Women’s Basketball League) and Patriots Women’s Volleyball (5th and 6th ISAA Tournament).

Similarly to be given awards for being chosen Most Valuable Players in various tournaments are Nicole Michelle Mañulit, Kristina Rose dela Cruz, Richelyn Badajos, Darlene dela Pena and Arrieane Garcace. Chosen Best Libero are Karl Mico Benolirao and Ericka Simpao, while the Best Attacker Award has given to Marwin Macasinag. Rose Ann Calle will likewise be cited for winning a gold medal in the 45th WNCAA Taekwondo Tournament.

The Recognition Day committee is chaired by Dean Nini Lim with Dr. Melissa Alcazaren as co-chair who will serve as master of ceremonies.

View more Headlines

Related Stories