Standing L-R: Atty. Victorio H. Macasaet, Jr. (Corporate Secretary), Mr. Marco Alfredo M. Benitez, Dr. Patricia Araneta, Mr. Benjamin Ernesto R. Lopez, Dr. Nina Lim Yuson (PWUAA Alumni President, ex-officio) Mr. John Phillip Sevilla, Mrs. Lydia Francisca B. Brown, Mr. Alfredo B. Reyes, Atty. Marco Jose Maria V. Mabanta (Asst. Corp. Sec.)

Seated L-R: Bro. Armin A. Luistro, FSC, Dr. Jose Francisco B. Benitez (President), Mrs. Victorina Amalingan-Sales (Chairperson)

PWU’s New Chairperson and Officials

Office of the President Memo #015
SY 2017-2018
September 7, 2017

Mrs. Victorina Amalingan-Sales is the new Chairperson of the Philippine Women’s University Board of Trustees. Mrs. Sales is a respected and committed alumna who provides leadership to the Board based on her extensive professional experience and demonstrated success in working with businesses and philanthropic endeavors. She has been a board member of De La Salle University, College of St. Benilde and the Arnold Jansen Foundation, Inc. Mrs. Sales has long supported and helped sustain the mission and vision of PWU, displaying personal qualities of loyalty, integrity and credibility. She was awarded the 2017 Hiyas ng Pamantasan award, which is the highest honor that the University can bestow on a member of the PWU community. Mrs. Sales is the seventh chairperson of the PWU Board of Trustees following in the illustrious footsteps of Chief Justice Jose Abad Santos (1925-1941), Ramona S. Tirona (1941-1945), Conrado Benitez (1946-1971), Filemon C. Rodriguez (1971-1980), Helena Z Benitez (1980-2016) and Jose Francisco B. Benitez (2016-2017).

PWU also welcomes Brother Armin Altamirano Luistro, FSC as the newest member of its Board of Trustees. Brother Armin, who was the former Secretary of the Department of Education, holds an unblemished track-record of service and will help provide guidance and good governance to PWU as it moves on and transitions to its next century.

Also continuing to serve on the PWU Board of Trustees are: Dr. Carmela I. Quebengco, Dr. Patricia Ma. Araneta, Mr. John Phillip Sevilla, Mr. Benjamin R. Lopez, Mr. Marco M. Benitez, Mr. Alfredo B. Reyes and Mrs. Lydia Francisca B. Brown. Serving as ex-oficio member is Dr. Cristina Lim Yuson representing the PWU Alumni Association while I continue to serve as president. Atty. Victorio H. Macasaet, Jr. of Siguion Reyna, Montecillo & Ongsiako Law Firm is the corporate secretary and Atty. Marco Mabanta is assistant corporate secretary. The Board recently convened to welcome its new members and to thank Mrs. Ma. Luisa G. Mirasol for her service and support as a Trustee.

As PWU embarks on our journey towards a brighter future, I call on the entire PWU community for your support as we welcome our new officials with whose help and guidance we continue to build the scaffolding for our next hundred years.


More In the News

Related Stories